The best made plans

img_3038

‘We can make our plans, but the Lord determines our steps.’ Proverbs 16:9 NLT

Do you ever get the impression that God has an incredible sense of humour?

I recently signed up to run a race which is going to require regular training, so last night the super-organised part of me set out an in depth training schedule, detailing when exactly I was going to fit runs in around my other commitments. Imagine my horror when I woke up this morning to a weather warning, predicting snow and icy conditions for the exact period that I had planned to go running this evening. After getting annoyed, I did manage to adapt my workout, and see the funny side, that on Day One, my carefully put together schedule needed to go out of the window.

It reminded me that sometimes, in life, we make our intricate plans of how we think life is going to go, and struggle to accept it when God has other ideas. We try to shoehorn His will for our lives into our own will, or disregard it completely, therefore limiting what God has for us, and wants to do in and through us. However, when we surrender and stop trying to fight, we open ourselves up to receiving God’s best for us; which is so much better than anything that we could imagine for ourselves. The Bible is full of promises which resonate this.

1 Corinthians 2:9 says, ‘However, as it is written:

“What no eye has seen,
what no ear has heard,
and what no human mind has conceived”-
the things God has prepared for those who love him.’

In Isaiah 55: 8-9 it says “For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
neither are your ways my ways,”declares the Lord. “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

 

3 thoughts on “The best made plans”

Leave a Reply

