Be footloose and let it shine

820‘Your word is a lamp for my feet, a light on my path.’ Psalm 119:105

As Christians, God’s word should lead our feet; the way we walk, the direction we go in life and the work we do on His behalf and how we do it.

I hate feet! I think it’s the thought of all those gnarled toes, corns and verruccas, hard skin and long toenails that could be lurking in people’s socks that put me off! Such is my dislike of feet, that I shudder whenever I think of them, and have resorted to wearing flip flops whenever I have to use public showers.

The more I think about it, the more I realise that those who spend a lot of time standing or walking, therefore putting repeated pressure on their feet, are the ones whose feet are likely to need TLC. One antidote to unsightly feet is a pedicure, where a professional will slough off the dead, hard skin, leaving you with baby soft undersoles. If you’ve ever been for a pedicure, they usually suggest that you wear flip flops afterwards, so as not to ruin the pedicurist’s hard work. It’s the same with our faith walk. If we don’t spend time walking out our faith, we won’t develop. Equally, every so often we need to rest and be restored. The more hard work has gone in, the more developed that hard skin on our feet will be. Having baby soft undersoles may look nice, but as soon as the feet are put through any intense work, if there is not a protective layer, it is going to be painful. You don’t want the feet that are fresh from a pedicure, but their owner is cautious because they don’t want to smudge their nail polish. Neither do you want the feet that are on a safe, protective surface, where the owner is fearful of what they may come into contact with.

Anyone who plays netball regularly can tell tales of feet that have been battered around inside trainers, feet that have been stepped on, as well as lost toe nails, injured muscles, bones and ligaments. As they weather the storm, your feet develop hard skin, to protect them from pressure. Despite the risk of injury while playing netball, I always went back for more the following week because what could happen to my feet didn’t outweigh the pleasure of playing. In the same way, the pressure and pain that can sometimes come with faith doesn’t override the blessings that following Jesus gives.

Feet are an important part of our walk of faith. No matter what shape our feet are in, whether they are weather beaten and battered, they need to be ready for walking and ready to step out and be led by God’s word. Your feet will tell the tale of your walk.

Recently I was out running after work and needed to use a headtorch as it was already dark. I noticed that I had to aim my gaze close to my feet in order to see path ahead clearly. Every time I looked further ahead, the light became weaker and it was more difficult to see where I was going. It reminded me about my faith walk; that every time I look too far ahead and take my eyes off Jesus, or look to other things to ‘be a lamp to my feet’, I increase my risk of stumbling, but when I keep my eyes fixed on Jesus, he is there to guide me.

‘Your word is a lamp for my feet,
a light on my path.
I have taken an oath and confirmed it,
that I will follow your righteous laws.
I have suffered much;
preserve my life, Lord, according to your word.
Accept, Lord, the willing praise of my mouth,
and teach me your laws.
Though I constantly take my life in my hands,
I will not forget your law.
The wicked have set a snare for me,
but I have not strayed from your precepts.
Your statutes are my heritage forever;
they are the joy of my heart.
My heart is set on keeping your decrees
to the very end.’ Psalm 119:105-112 NIV

Leave a Reply

